2010-2011 Georgia Children’s Book Award Nominees Announced

The word is out! The Georgia Children’s Book Award Nominees for 2010-2011 have been announced. These books will be the topic of next year’s Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl competition.

Interested in joining the Dean Rusk Reading Bowl team? See Mrs. Fleet, Mrs. Preston, or Mrs. Conway. We meet every weekto pra tice for the competition and enjoy fun and snacks. If you are an avid reader, we need you!

This year’s winner will be announced at the Georgia Children’s Literature Conference March 19-20. Here’s a list of next year’s nominees; titles in bold are already available in the media center, and we are currently ordering multiple copies of all titles:

  • Hummingbird by Kimberly Green Angle
  • The Gollywhopper Games by Jody Feldman
  • The Year the Swallows Came Early by Kathryn Fitzmaurice
  • Diamond Willow by Helen Frost
  • A Tugging String by David Greenberg
  • Chase by Jessie Haas
  • All the Lovely Bad Ones by Mary Downing Haan
  • Bird Lake Moon by Kevin Henkes
  • Go Big or Go Home by Will Hobbs
  • Seekers: The Quest Begins by Erin Hunter
  • We Can’t All Be Rattlesnakes by Patrick Jennings
  • House of Dance by Beth Kephart
  • The Last Girls of Pompeii by Kathryn lasky
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law
  • Storyteller by Edward Myers
  • Child of Dandelions by Shenaaz Nanji
  • Bringing the Boy Home by N.A. Nelson
  • Darkwing by Kenneth Oppel
  • The Magic Thief by Sarah Prineas
  • Dragon’s Egg by Sarah L. Thomson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: